Silicon Valley – “Third Party Insourcing”

Standard

As much as I love comedy it’s very rare for me to audibly laugh out loud. I’m talking really laugh out loud. Not chuckling or snickering, but full on laughter. The easy answer would be I’m lazy. I’m using energy to laugh, burning calories for goodness sake. It takes something special to make me crack-up. Safe to say last Sunday’s episode of Silicon Valley had something special and more.

The scene in question involved Erlich beating up some punk kid for picking on Richard. I’d suggest watching the episode for context, but you can even just YouTube it and still find it funny. It’s no secret how big a fan of T.J. Miller I am and that scene is exactly why. I guarantee that whole scene was Miller improving every line and movement. I’ve lost count of how many times I watched the episode this week, and for that part alone.

The focus of this episode though, is Richard and his lack of self confidence. The gang explores the idea of bringing in outside help (The Carver) to help them with Cloud. Richard takes that as them not believing in his abilities. He ends up letting “The Carver” do too much which leads to him blowing up their system or something. I’m terrible with technical jargon. Luckily, with the help of Adderall, every thing was fixed in the end. All in all I thought it was a great learning experience for Richard. He should know now that he has the full support of his guys. They know how smart and capable he is. More importantly, they trust him to the end.

Dinesh and Gilfoyle’s relationship just keeps getting better. Tara, Gilfoyle’s girlfriend, is in town, and apparently she has the hots for Dinesh. Dinesh spends the majority of the episode weighing the pros and cons of sleeping with Tara (there are quite a few more cons than pros). In the end it was obviously a prank (well, a joke when Gilfoyle was really high) on Dinesh. Another classic episode for the Pakistani Denzel.

Oh yeah, Jared gets abducted by one of Peter Gregory’s smart cars. It wasn’t funny. It was absolutely terrifying. I’m not joking. There’s a less than zero percent chance I ever use a smart car. Poor, poor Jared.

Funniest Quotes

“I pound mellow yellow, Oreos, and Adderral and I don’t sleep until I’m done.” – The Carver

“Decomposing. Oh, ohhh okay. That was dark.” – Jared after making an Amy Winehouse joke

“Jesus Christ man I can barely stand next to you when you’re in your towel.” – Dinesh when offered sex with Gilfoyle’s girlfriend

“You just brought piss to a shit fight you little cock!” – Erlich


 

God that last line brings me so much joy….and laughter. This show never lets me down. Can’t wait for the next episode. Oh wait…it’s on tonight. Sa-weet.

Leave a Reply

